When life DOESN’T reflect art.

by debianjoe

t43

life is not a t43

As my last post may have indicated, life gets to be really hectic from time to time.  During my last few weeks, I accidentally stumbled upon a ‘moment of clarity’ as I’ve heard them called.  For me, it was when I realized that while I know exactly what I need as far as technology is concerned, life in general is a whole different scenario.

So, as a result, I have started what is probably going to be a long-term effort to de-bloat my life a bit.  As I tend to do a pretty decent job of only installing what I plan to use, I have been spending the time to look at what I ‘actually WANT to use…in life.’

Essentially, overextending yourself is a result of picking up projects and appointments that do not align with the ‘design philosophy’ that you had in mind.  When someone asks me to help out on working with something, quite often, I agree to do so if it seems like a simple thing to do.  The problem is that then I begin to suffer from ‘feature creep’ in my life.  All of those little commitments and promises add up, and then in the effort to manage them all, concessions in quality and single-minded purpose are made.  Life ends up bogging down because we take on too much, and then have to put aside something to do something else.

While I won’t go into details about my personal plan, as it only applies to MY priorities, I guess that I’d like to stress that it only makes sense that if you’re going to be minimalistic in one aspect, that it would probably serve you well to apply that to other aspects of life as well.

“Doing nothing is better than being busy doing nothing.” – Lao Tzu

